NCWSS WEED CONTEST 2006. Jess J. Spotanski, Midwest Research Inc., York, NE 68467.

The 2006 NCWSS summer annual Weed Contest was hosted by Midwest Research Inc. in York, Nebraska on July 26th and 27th. There were a total of 41 students from seven schools. The schools were Purdue University, Ohio State University, University of Missouri, Kansas State University, Parkland College, Iowa State University and North Dakota State University. Of the students who participated, there were 16 graduate students and 25 undergraduates. Volunteer support was excellent as 40 people from both industry and academia braved the high heat and humidity to make the contest a success. The contest was made up of the traditional four events which were farmer problem solving, sprayer calibration, weed identification and unknown herbicide identification. A total of 22 awards were handed out to the highest scoring teams and individuals in both graduate and undergraduate divisions. The overall graduate team award winners were: 1st-Purdue, 2nd-Missouri, 3rd-Kansas State. The overall undergraduate team award winners were: 1st-Ohio State Team 1, 2nd-Ohio State Team 2, 3rd-Parkland College. The overall graduate individuals were: 1st-Nick Monnig, Missouri, 2nd-Andy Westhoven, Purdue, 3rd-Michael Duff, Kansas State. The overall undergraduate award winners were: 1st-Jason Parrish, Ohio State, 2nd-John MacMillan, Purdue, 3rd-Valerie Mock, Purdue. The individual events and winners were: Team field calibration: Missouri-graduate and Ohio State Team 1undergraduate; Written calibration individual: Sara Krippner-North Dakota State-graduate and Jason Parrish-Ohio State-undergraduate; Unknown herbicide individual: Nick Monnig-Missouri-graduate and Jason Parrish-Ohio State-undergraduate; Weed identification individual: Andy Westhoven-Purduegraduate and Jason Parrish-Ohio State-undergraduate; Farmer problem solving individual: Greg Kruger-Purdue-graduate and John MacMillan-Purdue-undergraduate. Thanks to all the volunteers who helped with the contest and congratulations to all the winners.