NORTH CENTRAL WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY WEED CONTEST 2008. Jess J. Spotanski, Midwest Research Inc., York, NE 68467. Greg Steckel, SGS Alvey Ag Research, Carlyle, IL 62231.

The 2008 NCWSS summer annual Weed Contest was hosted by SGS Alvey Ag Research in Carlyle, IL on Aug 13th and 14th. There were a total of 46 students from seven schools. The schools were Purdue University, Ohio State University, Kansas State University, Iowa State University, University of Illinois, University of Nebraska, and Michigan State University. Of the students who participated, there were 35 graduate students and 11 undergraduates. Volunteer support was excellent as over 30 people from both industry and academia helped to make the contest a success. The contest was made up of the traditional four events which were farmer problem solving, sprayer calibration, weed identification and unknown herbicide identification. A total of 23 awards were handed out to the highest scoring teams and individuals in both graduate and undergraduate divisions. The overall graduate team award winners were: 1st-Purdue, 2nd-Michigan State, 3rd-Kansas State. The overall undergraduate team award winners were: 1st-Illinois, 2nd-Ohio State. The overall graduate individuals were: 1st-Vince Davis, Purdue, 2nd-Valerie Mock, Purdue, 3rd-Chad Brabham, Purdue. The overall undergraduate award winners were: 1st-Molly Buckham, Michigan State, 2nd-Mark Bugg, Ohio State, 3rd-TIE-Calvin Glaspie, Ohio State, 3rd-TIE-Jared Roskamp, Illinois. The individual events and winners were: Team field calibration: Kansas State-graduate and Illinois-undergraduate; calibration individual: Chad Herrmann, Michigan State-graduate; Calvin Glaspie, Michigan State and Jared Roskamp, Illinois-TIE-undergraduate. Unknown herbicide individual: Valerie Mock, Purduegraduate and Molly Buckham, Michigan State-undergraduate; Weed identification individual: Chad Brabham, Purude-graduate and Calvin Glaspie, Michigan State-undergraduate; Farmer problem solving individual: AJ Woodyard, Illinois-graduate and Melinda Hoffman, Ohio State-undergraduate. Thanks to all the volunteers who helped with the contest and congratulations to all the winners.